Media Sector Working Group appointed by Kenya's ICT Cabinet Secretary David Owalo. [PHOTO: COURTESY]

Information and Technology CS Eliud Owalo, recently appointed a Working Group on Policy and Legislative Reforms for the ministry. In the Gazette Notice No. 12620, which outlines the appointment of the Working Group on Policy and Legislative Reforms for the Information, Communications, and the Digital Economy Sector in Kenya, several women have been nominated to play significant roles in this sector. Professor Timothy Mwololo Waema is the chairperson assisted by Phyllis Migwi and Doctor Hanningtone Joel Gaya.

Here is a brief focusing on the 12 nominees.

  1. Phyllis Migwi: She has been appointed as the Vice-Chairperson of the Sectoral Working Group. She is the Country General Manager for Microsoft East and Central Africa where she drives thought leadership in the market and leads in engagement and advocacy around Microsoft’s social impact pillars. 
  1. Angela Wamola: She is a digital and technology expert with a solid Information, Communications, and Telecommunications (ICT) background for managing all aspects of strategic engagement on digital transformation and advocacy on related public policies. 
  1. Josephine K. Ndambuki: A business strategy and innovation leader with skills across technology, business, and innovation coupled with an entrepreneurial mindset and passion for the development of the next innovator ecosystems.
  1. Agnes Kalekye Nguna is an accomplished Transformational Business Leader, with 15 years of experience and expertise in leading, managing, and overseeing company operations. She is presently working as a Chief Operating Officer at Star Publications (Radio Africa Group Ltd). She has previously worked as General Manager, Commercial for Monitor Publications Limited (Kampala), Group Advertising Manager for Mwananchi Communications Ltd (Tanzania, and Group Regional Manager (Radio Africa Group).
  1. Judy W. Munyinyi has a decade of senior-level experience in Government and Communication, with expertise underpinned by a robust foundation in private-sector communication encompassing print and broadcast media, digital media, and development communication.
  1. Joan Onyango-Obunga is an expert in International Development Law. She has worked in the Kenya Law Reform Commission as a Senior Legal Researcher and Legislative Drafter where she drafted Bills and Regulations, reviewing and amending of existing laws.
  1. Caroline Kiarie-Kimondo has been a grantmaker at UAF-Africa with 8 years of experience in program management. She is an expert resource in organizing and curating networking and knowledge-sharing spaces with diverse partners including artists, activists, academia, and community-based organizations.
  1. Caroline S.A. Mandi is a performance-driven business leader with over 25 years of demonstrated skills in Communication, Media, and Business in East Africa; She has been the CEO and Publisher at CMM LTD, East African Magazines Ltd, Managing Editor, True Love Magazine. Ms. Mandi has provided Communications consultancy for Safaricom, the Automobile Association, Oxford University Publishers, Oakland Media Services, World Bank, and Coca-Cola Cola amongst others. 
  1. Sylvia Mudasia-Mwichuli has over 20 years of experience in providing leadership in policy influencing, communications management, and resource mobilization support for several local and international organizations. Her areas of expertise include communication strategy development, change management campaigns, partnership building, stakeholder engagements, public affairs, campaign design, and so on. 
  1. Annette Kerubo Nyakora is an Advocate of the High Court of Kenya, a Member of the Law Society of Kenya, and a Member of the Advocates Benevolent Association. She is currently working as Senior State Counsel in the Office of the Attorney General and Department of Justice and seconded to the Ministry of Information, Communication and the Digital Economy. 
  1. Zubeida Kananu is currently President of the Editors Guild and Program Editor/News Anchor at KTN News. Previously, she served as political editor and senior News Reporter. Zubeida Kananu is a member of the Working Group, contributing her expertise to the discussions and recommendations related to Broadcasting, Postal, and Courier services.
  1. Anastasia Kariuki is an experienced IT technical resource. She is a Deputy Director of, the IT Department, and has a wealth of experience that spans over 15 years of IT Audit Advisory assignments across the East African region. In addition, she is a Gold member of ISACA and holds various professional qualifications including Digital Transformation (BCG), Data Science (Harvard Business Online), and PRINCE 2 Agile Practitioner.

Other members include Ambassador Bishar Hussein, former KEG president Churchill Moses Otieno, Dennis Itumbi, Michael Okidi, John Walubengo, John Ooko, and Amrit Singh Pyara Labhuram.

“The Sectoral Working Group shall review existing policy, legislative frameworks, institutional structures, and administrative protocols regulating or underpinning the ICT and digital economy sector in Kenya and make recommendations for reform,” read the notice in part.

They will remain in office for a period of six (6) months from the date of the publication of this notice and the Cabinet Secretary may, if necessary, extend the term of the Sector Working Group.